Determining the Stages of Keratoconus

Being diagnosed with Keratoconus is a hard thing. Learning what comes next in the process is most important. There are several tests that will be preformed on you to determine the condition of your cornea. This is one of the steps to determining how your doctor will treat your Keratoconus.


When you doctor is examining you he will want to look closer into you cornea. When he does this he will use a keratoscope. This device will help him see the surface of your cornea. It is not invasive and it will give him a better idea of the damage to your cornea.

Corneal Topography-

This instrument will give him more accurate details of the damaged area by looking at the cornea’s pattern. It analyzes the cornea’s topography and projects a digital image. The doctor can see the damage or scarring on the cornea and it can let the doctor see just how fast the disease is progressing.

Staging Keratoconus-

There are three levels of severity when it comes to Keratoconus. The doctor can use his topography and determine with close certainty how severe the disease is. Below are a few ways to tell:

Testing Steepness of greatest Curvature

40-45D is mild

52 D is considered advance

Above 52D is severe

Thickness of the Cornea

Mild- 506

Advanced- Less than 446

Morphology of the Cone-

If the cone is sagging it too is an indicator of the advancing of the disease.

Since the use of Corneal Topography we have not used the terms advanced and severe as we used to. However the image that they provide will help you doctor determine the next course of action. Making sure you ask questions and understand what is going on every step of the way will ensure a greater chance of full recovery. Trust your doctor and let him know you concerns I am sure he will listen!

For more information about keratoconus visit